Skip to content

Guide to the NCAA tournament

OK, here’s a quick rundown: The men’s ice hockey NCAA tournament field consists of 16 teams from across the country. Tournament action begins on Friday, with games taking place in four different geographic regions. Each region includes four teams, seeded 1-4. The NCAA has provided the official bracket (as well as a printable version) for the tournament.

Northeastern will play in the Midwest Regional, being held at U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati. The Huskies earned a No. 4 seed, and will face the No. 1 seed North Dakota Fighting Hawks on Friday at 2 p.m. EST. The winner will advance to the quarterfinals and play on Saturday at 6 p.m. against the winner of the Michigan-Notre Dame game.

Only one team will emerge from each of the four regionals. Those teams will advance to compete in the Frozen Four in Tampa, Florida, on April 7-9, with the winner crowned national champion.

Northeastern secured an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament by winning the Hockey East championship. This year marks the fifth time the Huskies have reached the NCAA tournament, and the first time since 2009. Northeastern also reached the tournament in 1982, 1988, and 1994.

Cookies on Northeastern sites

This website uses cookies and similar technologies to understand your use of our website and give you a better experience. By continuing to use the site or closing this banner without changing your cookie settings, you agree to our use of cookies and other technologies. To find out more about our use of cookies and how to change your settings, please go to our Privacy Statement.