Student-journalists shine at New England Emmys

Scenes from a broadcast during Professor Mike Beaudet’s newsroom class in the journalism department inside the media studio in Shillman Hall on April 18, 2017. Photo by Adam Glanzman/Northeastern University

More than a dozen Northeastern student-journalists won prizes at the New England Emmy Awards last weekend.

Three teams of students were honored for their work, which ranged from telling compelling community stories to building a campus TV news network. The students comprised both undergraduate and graduate students, and both current students and recent graduates; their majors ranged from journalism and communication studies, to media and screen studies and political science.

Photo courtesy of New England Emmys. By Eric Antoniou

“This is just further validation that we’re really starting to shine as a multimedia journalism program,” said Mike Beaudet, professor of the practice in the School of Journalism.

The team behind Husky News Network, a program run by Beaudet and communications studies lecturer Michelle Carr, won the top prize for College/University Newscast.

Three journalism students shared the prize for best Long-form Nonfiction. Their piece, called “This is Our Weapon,” knits together images from political protests in Boston since the presidential election.

Another three students won the Public Affairs/Community Service award for “Creating Their Own Labels,” a package of news stories focusing on people with disabilities and their campus connections.

Here is the full list of winners:


  • Ellie Williams, AMD’17, Anchor/Reporter
  • Danae Bucci, AMD’20, Anchor/Reporter
  • Elijah Kaplan, AMD’17, Reporter
  • Natasha Chang, AMD’17, Reporter
  • Niyah Miller, MA’18, Reporter
  • Dan McLoone, AMD’18, Producer
  • Netra Venkateshwaran, AMD’19, Director
  • JeeOon Lee, AMD’17, Technical Director
  • Ellen Sciales, AMD’18, Floor Director
  • Aren LeBrun, AMD’17, Photographer

Long-form Nonfiction:

  • Aren LeBrun, AMD’17, Producer/Photographer/Editor
  • Elijah Kaplan, AMD’17, Photographer
  • Natasha Chang, AMD’17, Photographer

Public Affairs/Community Service:

  • Aneri Pattani, AMD’17, Producer/Photographer/Editor
  • Jane Cassingham, AMD’17, Producer/Photographer/Editor
  • Chinyen Chang, MA’17, Producer/Photographer/Editor