Skip to content

Faculty Senate elects leadership members

The Faculty Senate on Wednesday re-elected University Distinguished Professor Richard Daynard as chairman of the Senate Agenda Committee and set the committee membership for the 2014-15 academic year.

For Daynard, a professor in the School of Law, it will mark his third-consecutive year serving as SAC chairman. The senate also unanimously elected George Alverson, associate professor of experimental particle physics, to serve as the Senate Agenda Committee secretary.

Four other senators were elected Senate Agenda Committee members: Carey Rappaport, professor of electrical and computer engineering; Gordana Rabrenovic, associate professor of sociology and education; Marina Leslie, associate professor of English; and Robert Hanson, professor of chemistry and chemical biology.

Wednesday marked the senate’s final meeting of the academic year. Senators passed resolutions to establish three new programs: a bachelor of arts in media and screen studies in the College of Arts, Media, and Design, a master of science in business analytics in the D’Amore-McKim School of Business, and a master of science in urban informatics in the College of Social Sciences and Humanities.

Stephen W. Director, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, and Thomas Nedell, vice president and CFO, presented a fiscal year 2015 budget overview and goals to the senate.

The senate also passed a resolution to accept a report of recommendations from the Senate Committee for Research Policy Oversight.

Cookies on Northeastern sites

This website uses cookies and similar technologies to understand your use of our website and give you a better experience. By continuing to use the site or closing this banner without changing your cookie settings, you agree to our use of cookies and other technologies. To find out more about our use of cookies and how to change your settings, please go to our Privacy Statement.